Motivation, or why am I a really slow learner of Russian.

1375194_10100624291422393_1380681261_n
Sandra in Sevastopol

I have decided to write on motivation as I am currently trying, not very successfully, to learn Russian. I have a good reason for learning this language – my daughter is currently living in Sevastopol in the Crimea and I want to visit her before the end of 2014. This, however, is currently not proving to be a strong enough motivation to work on the language more than a couple of times a week. So I thought I would muse on this following my discussions with my daughter on the subject, and been inspired by her own posts on learning Russian and see if I can create a stronger focus for myself as a result.

Having started this post and not developed it I have been linked to this blog post which is about why failing to learn a language over a year can still be of benefit to your mental health. Does this make a difference to my motivation? I have been going back to my Russian a little more since then and doing my Memrise Russian course reminder sessions more often since then, so maybe it has.

Hmm – maybe I should list the ways in which I am trying to learn Russian before I go on.

I started out with 3 Memrise courses on my I-phone and iPad – Beginner’s Russian first, then I added Cardinal numbers and finally Learn Basic Russian.  I have only completed one of the courses as far as learning new words – the Cardinal numbers one. I am now going onto this course most days to do the repeat learning, and I am starting to add new words too.

I have also used Quizlet  to practice some of the words I am learning – although I often find that the new lists my daughter posts as part of her learning are scary and off-putting as she is so much further on than I am.

I have just started using a BBC Learn Russian course which includes CD’s and I am planning to create my own Quizlet sets for the words I am learning.

So why am I not getting very far? The main reasons I can identify are fear and lack of confidence – which is to be expected when I am learning but I am not making allowances for this. When I talk to my customers about their book-keeping and administration processes it is often the same things that stop them from putting processes in place. I must make sure that I use the learning about my motivation in relation to learning a language to influence the way in which I work with my customers about the things they are finding hard to focus on.

I am now going to try doing at least 15 minutes a day and will see if that helps.

I will do an update about how I am doing as I am now planning on going to Sevastopol with my daughter when she goes back after her visit to the UK this month to get her new visa.

One thought on “Motivation, or why am I a really slow learner of Russian.

  1. Reblogged this on Sandy Millin and commented:
    My mum is learning Russian. Her previous language learning experience is limited to French at school, so she’s quite like a lot of beginners we meet in EFL – a little bit of language a long time ago, and a lot of mental obstacles to overcome to build up the confidence to practise the language. Take a look at her post about why she is a slow learner of Russian: maybe it will echo some of the experiences of your learners too.

Leave a Reply

